How to calculate sales and cost per conversion from your ads?

Ksenia Udovitskaia
2 min readSep 6, 2022

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Imagine you are selling bicycles online and wish to gain more sales. You have placed the ads about the end-of-summer discounts on search engines. Your goal is to collect bike rental reservations online till the end of August for this limited-time offer.

Since you have got the first results, you can track your campaign effectiveness. A crucial indicator of how to do that is Cost per conversion. Simply put, it’s the relation f total campaign cost to the successful sales driven by those ads.

The formula looks like this:

Cost per conversion = Total cost of ads/number of conversions

So if your daily budget is €250 and your sales are €150, then the conversion cost would be 250 / 150 = €1.6.

If you are new to data analytics, you could be curious how to calculate the total cost of advertisement and the number of conversions (sales).

Total cost of ads / Sales = number of clicks * Cost per Click (CPC)

Clicks =how many clicks you received (let’s assume 5000 clicks)

Cost per click = your price for every click (let’s assume €0,05)

Number of conversions = 5000 * 0,05% = 250.

Number of conversions or Sales = Clicks * Conversion rate

Clicks =how many clicks you received (let’s assume 5000 clicks)

Conversion rate = Number of visitors (100) / Number of Sales (3)

Conversion rate = 100 / 3 = 3%.

Number of conversions = 5000 * 3% = 150.

Most industry leaders consider 2–3% as the average conversion rate for online stores.

You might also find reports claiming that 5% is more accurate for eCommerce stores, while 1% is still an acceptable rate.

Image https://www.twaino.com/en/definition/c/conversion-rate/

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Ksenia Udovitskaia
Ksenia Udovitskaia

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